My 28-Day Personal Workout Plan

8 Feb

I got this crazy idea into my head that I needed to get a little more organised in terms of my fitness, and in particular to get into a habit of working out. Now it must be some crazy idea that I have that I need to look the part of a personal trainer if I ever expect to be taken seriously by the people I end up training, and I figured that I’d need to put myself through some sort of process… the same sort of process that I would expect if a trainer came up to me and told me that I would need to do steps A, B, & C in order to achieve my physical fitness goals. So yes, I need to burn off the excess fat, and to be able to do the exercises I will expect of my intended future “victims”, but I also need to build a little muscle. Not your Mr. Universe type of muscle, but the real honest-hard-day’s-work kind of muscle that will show off nicely and yet unobtrusively whenever I am trying to convince a potential client why they should pick me out of the crowd of more experienced PT’s out there. Plus… I want the bonus points for making my wife smile smugly whenever I take off my shirt at the beach!  Yeah… I’m already starting to think with some serious “vanity”!  😛

So I made a rough plan which I have decided to follow. Actually, I’m already at day 8 of my plan… and I’m not sure I’m so good at following my own guidelines. Day one went off with a bang. It was a solid core workout that left me sweaty and feeling as if I had been punched repeatedly in the belly, so I guess that did something useful, right?! Days 2 and 3 on the other hand were kind of partly written off exercise wise. I had my boys back with me for the first time in a month, so I didn’t really focus on workouts as I’d planned to. Day 4 was meant to be a rest day, but I ended up working out quite hard to make up for the lost time the prior 2 days. Day 6 was scheduled for more core work, which I did, but day 7 was a very hot day and I kind of talked myself out of my planned High Intensity Interval Running as I sweated the heat out at home. As for today, it is a scheduled rest day, and only the second day of my workout plan that I’ve actually stuck to!

So this is not a great start in some ways, and not so bad in others.  I’ve needed to remind myself that this is a big routine change and that I should expect a few hiccoughs getting it all working for me. Not an excuse, just observing the reality.  I supposed I could have worked out today, but I decided that I’d already fallen of the horse, and rather than jumping back on and facing the wrong way, I chose to use today as my get back on the horse day, attempting to stick to the rest of my plan.

So the plan itself is just a rough guide. I know that my core is my weakest link, so I’ve made sure that I dedicate entire workouts to core specific training. To keep things a little mixed up, all of the other days are full body workout days, incorporating light core work as well as targeting muscle gaining exercise for arms and shoulders, and strengthening exercises throughout. The rest days are important for recovery, and my workouts are limited to 20-30 minutes each, with both HIIT and Endurance focussed sets.

So the plan looks something like this:

Day 1 Core
Day 2 Full Body
Day 3 Core
Day 4 Rest
Day 5 Full Body
Day 6 Core
Day 7 Running Intervals
Day 8 Rest
Day 9 Core
Day 10 Full Body
Day 11 Flexibility
Day 12 Rest
Day 13 Full Body
Day 14 Core
Day 15 Running Intervals
Day 16 Rest
Day 17 Core
Day 18 Full Body
Day 19 Flexibility
Day 20 Rest
Day 21 Core
Day 22 Cross Country Running
Day 23 Flexibility
Day 24 Rest
Day 25 60 second Press-up & Plank Tests + Core Workout
Day 26 20 meter Shuttle Run Test
Day 27 Rest
Day 28 Rest, Measure Resting Heart Rate, Weight, Waist, Hip, and Body Fat % (9 Point Calliper)
  • Core workouts are predominantly comprised compound movements targeting the inner core muscles, such as side planks with oblique twists, spider crawls etc. I also include agility and balance movements.
  • Full Body workouts are generally exercises focussing on strength with extra arm and shoulder isolating exercises, and compound strength movements using resistance bands or body weight exercises. Some agility and core  is thrown in for good measure.
  • Flexibility means a combination of movements I’ve learned through yoga and Feldenkrais ATM techniques.
  • The Shuttle Runs pretty much wipe me completely out, which is why I grant myself the extra rest day at the end of the sequence… as a “treat”! 😛

I’ve generally been making up my workouts as I go along, but this can make it a little harder to remember which movements I used in prior workouts, and I like to keep my body guessing by trying to avoid repeating exercises at the next workout. I figure that this is not too bad given I always include compound movements so that I use more muscle groups, so hopefully nothing gets missed from session to session. I think I’d prefer however to have a set sequence to follow from month to month, with contingencies just in case I face injuries or find myself at risk of over-training. Yeah… I know that’s probably unlikely at this stage, but I do like to plan carefully ahead, just in case. Well, whatever I come up with, I’ll post it all up here when I’ve got a better idea about what I’m doing, and about how to both pace myself and balance the workload over the entire 28 day period so that I reduce the risk of strain or injury.

Even though I’ve had a rocky start to my exercise regimen, the good news is that I remain fully committed to making this work, and I am definitely working out more now than I ever have. Things can only continue to improve as I continue to learn more about how to work my body effectively to get the most out of my workouts both to strengthen myself and to burn off the excess fat, and in the meantime, every fall from the horse simply means I need to get back up again and keep at it until I get it right.

2 Responses to “My 28-Day Personal Workout Plan”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 48 days as a Caveman & my latest workouts « Diary of a Personal Trainer - 10 February 2013

    […] recently posted that I had made a rough workout plan for myself, and that my workouts had been a little […]

  2. Today was supposed to be a “rest” day! « Diary of a Personal Trainer - 16 February 2013

    […] My 28-Day Personal Workout Plan (diaryofapersonaltrainer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Reader of Singapore

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Aeyysh's world

A small world full of thoughts

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

unbolt me

the literary asylum

Hyperbole and a Half

Blogging a personal journey to health and fitness

garyandbasia

News about Gary And Basia

Cranial Diarrhea

Capturing the crap floating around in my head

