Archive | 22:22

What is the REAL power of positive thinking?

12 Feb

No, I’m not simply quoting the title of that very famous book published about two decades ago. I’m talking about the actual concept of positive thinking itself. What it is to be thinking positively, what it is that makes positive thought so hard, and why it can be so hard to achieve… or even to believe in. Understanding positive thinking is particularly close to my own heart, as it is by learning more about the connection between emotion and thought that I myself was able to come to terms with my own journey out of mental illness, and so it is something that I hope will help others if I talk about it. I hope that by sharing this it will not only help those who themselves are dealing with depression, but will also help those of you who are struggling through other journey’s in your lives where positive thinking might just be a key to unlocking the potential you have within you to achieve the goals that you have set for yourself.

I’m sure that many of you will have rolled your eyes on more than one occasion when someone told you to simply be positive, or how you may have thought to yourself that you’d find it easier to be more “positive” if there wasn’t so much “bad stuff” happening around you. It can seem so easy for others to offer these well intentioned “platitudes” when they don’t really understand what is going on in our own lives. These thoughts are unfortunately negative, “wrong” in the sense that they are reinforcing negativity, and even more unfortunately they are the excuses that we use to delude ourselves that it is “OK” to be negative. The thing is, that negativity is easy. You don’t have to work at it, you simply cease to participate in anything that requires an effort and you will find yourself in the trap that is negativity, and when you’ve lived that way for long enough you begin to feel comfortable with it, more accepting of it until it becomes so ingrained that you can’t imagine anything else is safe, or even possible for you, and you make excuses to avoid facing the reality of negativity such that you shut yourself off from anything positive.

Now I’m not saying that you should never have negative thoughts. Quite the contrary, I believe it is definitely OK to have feelings that are negative from time to time. It’s when negativity becomes routine, and when thoughts always stray to and stay with the negative that it becomes a problem. When excuses become easy to make to justify negativity the problem becomes a serious one in terms of your mental well being and your overall health. For many years, I personally was someone who found dozens of excuses for having negative feelings, and for dwelling on the negativity so much that it became a kind of priority in my life. Yes, that’s right. Negativity can become a priority, and this is when you are at your worst and when your health and general well being suffers the most. The can do attitude gets lost behind an I can’t façade that leads you to give up on anything that seems “difficult” and to explain it away with only the negativity that you shroud yourself in, as if it more important to you than anything else.

I was – in short – a consummate unbeliever in the power of positive thinking as a real phenomenon that I could tap into as a resource for positive change in my life. I permitted myself to live in this way and I chose to focus on negativity rather than positivity. The net impact of all of this was that I basically became lazy with regards to my health and well being, and the negativity impacted on every other area of my life, from family, to work, to my social life, and to my ability to maintain my fitness and my health. I became fat, chronically dehydrated, I ate heavily processed fast preparation foods without any thought about how they would affect me, and the impact on my health led to feeling more depressed, which led to less exercise and poorer diet in a never ending spiralling negative cycle.

The epiphany for me came on the day that I booked myself in to see a psychologist, who sat me down and explained how all of the psychology research led to a conclusion that we live the experience dictated by our thoughts. It wasn’t my negative situation that led to my negative emotion, and it wasn’t negative emotion that led to negative thoughts. It was completely the opposite. I learned that it was thought that dictated emotion, but that this connection was very difficult to see, and the cause-effect relationship between thought and emotion was so quick and so subtle that it appeared to be completely the opposite to what I would have otherwise believed. Naturally I didn’t really believe this at first, so I was taught to meditate so that I could recognise when thoughts were crowding my head, and so that I could learn to let thoughts go and allow them to bubble up into my consciousness slowly, rather than all at once. In learning to meditate, I also learned how to recognise when the thoughts were predominantly negative, so that I could let the negative thoughts go, and with them any associated negative feelings.

The meditation itself was merely a tool, and one which I still use from time to time. What was really liberating for me is that I was able to use this tool and others that the psychologist taught me to differentiate between when my thoughts were positive or negative, and to identify how I was feeling as I had those thoughts. The real breakthrough however came on a day when I was feeling quite positive about something, and then I found my head in a negative space and feeling suddenly sad. It was so incredible to witness myself in a transition from thought to thought, and in seeing how the thoughts themselves actually led to the transition in emotions, and it made me realise that this psychologist I was attending was absolutely correct in everything he had been trying to get through my thick skull. I don’t know why these guys get called “shrinks”, because I found instead that my head was being grown, not shrunk, simply by teaching me to expand my own awareness of the thoughts and emotions that I was having at different times in the day.

OK, so this is a lovely little story, but where does this show the real power of positive thinking? Well, like everything that we experience in the world, there is a balance to contend with. What goes up comes down, action results in reaction, and so too where there is negativity, there is positivity. So if negative thinking leads to negative life situations, surely positive thinking leads to more positive life situations. Certainly this is how I have found things to be. By choosing to be positive in my thoughts, I have been able to see other choices and possibilities in my life that I had not permitted myself to see before.

When things start to seem hard to face, I find something positive to focus on and it drives me to make a greater effort to overcome whatever it is that seems so hard. I am open to new and exciting possibilities rather than simply allowing my thoughts to circle around things that are known, painfully “comfortable”, and that might make me miserable. I have become open to building dreams to follow, setting goals that are tough yet rewarding, and accepting failures as opportunities for growth and learning, rather than as something to feel bad about.

The greatest power is that which comes from positive thought. It leaves you feeling charged, excited, happy, and ready to accept any challenge, regardless of the eventual outcome. When you can see yourself simply resorting to I Can’t because it feels comfortable and familiar, positive thinking stops you feeling sad and miserable about what you think you can’t do, and charges you with the strength and determination to achieve what you Will do.

For example, I was in a job that I wasn’t enjoying, where I had lived through every imaginable up and down, and where I was being treated with less respect or courtesy than I deserved. I hadn’t been happy there fore several years, but I felt trapped and as if there was nothing about my life that I could change to make it better. After a few moments of wallowing in the negativity of self pity one day, I consciously let my negative thoughts go and asked myself what was positive about my life. I reminded myself that I was recently married to a beautiful woman, I had two troubled yet ultimately wonderful sons who I am proud of, and that it was only my job that was making me feel so low from day to day. I also reminded myself that I had my long service leave coming up, and that with a 3 month holiday due and some savings, I had an opportunity to start fresh and do something else, and that the savings would buy me time to put my life into order. I resigned from the job where I was so unhappy, and suddenly my mind opened up to other possibilities. I could return to my work as a software developer, I could start my own company, I could study, or I could simply enjoy some time off and worry about it later. None of these possibilities were open to me while my mind was closed and my feelings focussed on the negative rather than positive thoughts about my life.

Another example, I had found myself out of work for a few months, and my chances of being rehired in my own industry looking slimmer by the day because of both the time that had passed, and the fact that the employment market had suddenly shrunk quite considerably just as I had exited my previous job. I had debts piling up and some worrying signs that my mortgage could be foreclosed in the near future. I found myself again getting depressed, stressed, and worried about all of the things that “might” turn bad for me and my family. Again, I took a moment to stop and think about what I really wanted to do, what I could do, and what the options were that were available to me. I looked again for the positives. I was feeling rested from the stresses of my previous job. I’d had lots of time with my sons during their school holidays, and I had taken a more serious interest in fitness, and health. I had learned many things over the past few months, and I had also learned that a personal training course that I had a great interest in that would start in a few months, and that would be affordable.

Feeling really good about all of these things, I made a pre-emptive strike with the bank and arranged an extension of time for some of the repayments. I’ve contacted my superannuation provider and learned that I can access some of my retirement money if I have no other way to afford the payments on my mortgage, I’ve realised that any job that I take on now doesn’t need to be in IT – and probably shouldn’t if I’ve chosen to leave that career behind me, and that by taking such and interest in improving my health and fitness (I had recently been attending “boot camp” training) I was starting to feel physically and mentally better overall. Fast forward to today and I now have only a few weeks until my course to qualify as a PT will start, I have been able to buy lost of time to hold the bank off while I continue looking for work, I have started to apply for simple and low paying jobs anywhere that seems interesting – as long as it keeps the lights on I won’t care what the job is – and I feel as if I am at the beginning of a really exciting time in my life. I feel happier than I ever have, and my wife, kids, and parents have all noticed this change in me. All because I paused to find some positive thoughts to focus on.

So what is the secret? What is the real power of positive thinking? It is the power to take control of your life no matter how challenging your circumstances have become. The ability to turn things around for the better. The power to face any adversity, to use the failures as things to learn from and the successes as things to inspire. The power to be open to any possibility, and to recognise opportunities when they present themselves. The power to set goals, and to achieve them. The power to drive positive change in your life that empowers you rather than always holding you back, and the power to put aside depression and uncertainty and replace them with happiness and strength. The power to restore your health and vitality simply because to choose to do so, and the realisation that all of this is possible simply by choosing to find something positive in each and every situation that you are faced with.

Positive thinking is what changes you from an I hope & I Wish person to an I Can & I Will person, and therein lies it’s true potential and power.

How much water do you really need each day?

12 Feb

I wrote a lengthy article about a month ago all about dehydration and the importance of water and its purpose in the human body, so I won’t repeat all of that here. What I do wish to revisit however is the section about the amount of water that the human body needs each day. The issue of hydration has been bothering me quite a lot ever since I started taking a serious interest in nutrition and fitness. With all of the varying opinions and the non-scientifically based advice out there, I decided to think about the issue to see if there was a way that I could create a reasonable definition as to the amount of water that the human body actually needs each day.

Now please bear in mind, I am no nutritional expert, I am not a scientist, nor do I have any conclusive evidence or peer-reviewed studies to present to you. What I am going to describe here are my thoughts and some calculations that I made to try to help me to create a better guide for myself and for my own understanding. If you find any of this information is useful to you then I would be very pleased if you could contact me with your own observations and experience. Please however don’t take any of the information that I have written here either as medical advice, nor as being entirely appropriate to your own individual health and well-being without first seeking the advice of your doctor.

In my previous water article I mentioned that I had been aiming to consume 1 litre of water per 22 Kg of bodyweight. Now, if I am working out hard every day, and I’m not prepared to carefully hydrate before, during and after each workout, then I suspect that this guideline would be easier to follow. When I am having a comparatively inactive day however, I find it hard to consume so much water. I just don’t find myself getting thirsty enough to trigger a need to drink nearly 3.5 litres of water given that most of the food that I consume these days also has a relatively high water content. It’s different when I am working out or the weather is very hot, but not during a rest day at relatively cool temperatures. So I got to thinking about what the minimum water would be that I would need in terms of the amount of water that my body would generally lose through ordinary metabolic processes.

Water losses occur through both digestion & sweating, and you also lose a substantial amount of water simply by breathing. Now, rather than attempting to catch all of the water that I use in a day, I decided to take a really basic mathematical approach, based on several assumptions:

  1. For the sake of simplicity, assume that water losses over time are linear. I’m certain that the body’s built in survival mechanisms would mean that water losses decrease over timet, but as it will make the math much easier and I am really shoddy at math I’ll stick with what I can do.
  2. Assume the average person can survive for 3 days without consuming any water given very little activity.
  3. Assume the average person reaches a point of fatal dehydration with 15% water losses.
  4. Assume the average person has a body water content of 57%. I.e.: a Water_Mass_Multiplier of 0.57.

Given these assumptions,

  1. Divide the 15% fatal water loss by 3 days, and you get a roughly estimated 5% water loss per day.I.e.: a Loss_Multiplier of 0.05.
  2. Take your body weight in kilograms (Mass) and multiply it by the Water_Mass_Multiplier to estimate the total Water_Volume in Litres.
  3. Multiply the Water_Volume by the Loss_Multiplier to estimate the Daily_Loss in Litres.
  4. Assuming I have an error in my formula, we’ll add a 10% error_correction_multiplier of 1.10 to ensure that we don’t completely underestimate the water requirement.
  5. Assuming the average person doesn’t sit completely still for an entire day, we’ll add a 25% loading which I’ll call an activity_multiplier of 1.25, to account for all of the mild activity that would increase the metabolic usage of body water.
  6. Assuming that all estimated losses are the daily water intake requirement, convert the result to get the estimated average mare minimum water requirement in millilitres per Kilogram of bodyweight.

So to make it all look easier to follow and more math like:

WaterMath

No matter what body weight I put into this formula, the DailyRequirement factor is always the same, which according to my very rough formula works out to be:

39 millilitres per Kilogram of body weight

So this  means that with all the hard work already done, all I need to do is take my bodyweight in kilograms (presently 76) and multiply it by 39 to get my personal minimum daily requirement of about 2900 ml.

But what about when you exercise, or if you live at a high altitude, or if the weather is hot? Well, As I mentioned earlier, other factors can affect your daily water consumption (including the water content of the food you eat), so it’s pretty clear that this formula and the daily requirement factor that I worked out is not going to suit every single situation. I would still suggest drinking at least 600ml about an hour both before and after a workout, and to be sure that you have water on hand during the workout to avoid dehydrating yourself through your exertions. This daily requirement factor is really something that I’ve worked out to give me a rough guide to ensure I avoid chronic mild dehydration and to ensure I am adequately hydrated throughout a normal and mildly active day. As always, I will continue to allow thirst to be a guide, and to monitor the colour of my urine which should always remain a “pale straw” colour. Any darker and I’m likely to be dehydrated, and lighter means I’m probably drinking more water than I strictly need. This shouldn’t be a problem however, as the body is very good as self regulating its water levels, and as I am spreading my water consumption across an entire day, the risk of water toxicity is basically non-existent.

I have personally been sticking to this new guideline for about a week now, and in that time I’ve noticed no difference physically as compared to when I was drinking the extra half litre per day, except that I find it less of a chore staying hydrated. My post workout recovery remains good, urine colour remains the same and I don’t have any of the dehydration symptoms that I used to get about 6 months ago, so I guess that backing off on the water slightly hasn’t been a problem.  I’ll keep monitoring how this goes, and I’ll update this formula as I learn more.

The thing that disappoints me though, is that I’m not sure if this formula is as applicable for people in the obese or severely underweight body mass categories. I know that fat cells don’t contain as much water as compared to muscle, yet the fat cells themselves still need to be maintained with access to body fluids, so it would make sense that having more body fat would still require more water. What I can’t figure out is how much, and I am not sure how much water a larger person feels compelled to consume. So what I’m saying is that I’m pretty sure that this formula works for me, but I’m not sure how useful it will be for people who are not of a statistically “average” weight. Given however that medications are applied based on body mass, I feel it would be reasonable to assume that taking a prescriptive approach to hydration would mean that a larger person could safely consume proportionally larger quantities of water, and that my rough formula would probably be applicable regardless… but I can be sure until I’ve had a chance to research this puzzle further.

As it is, I’ll continue to consume water according to my math and I’ll update the formula as I learn more. Interestingly enough I’ve just learned that if I convert my weight to pounds and use the half body weight in fluid ounces method, the amount of water I would consume is almost the same give or take a few ounces. So perhaps my logic isn’t so messed up after all! 🙂

The Reader of Singapore

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hyperbole and a Half

Blogging a personal journey to health and fitness

Cranial Diarrhea

Capturing the crap floating around in my head