Today was supposed to be a “rest” day!

16 Feb

If you knew me 15 years ago and held me up against the person I am today, you probably wouldn’t believe that I was the same person.

Exercise? Strenuous physical activity? Healthy food?!! Surely that couldn’t be me?!!

Fast forward to today and here I am doing regular workouts, eating a healthy diet, and turning my life around. The funny thing though is that it seems like I am trading addictions, going from being addicted to junk foods and sitting in front of the TV to my new addictions of healthy food and exercise. Yes, it’s true, I’m becoming addicted to the workouts. So much so that on my recovery day when I am supposed to be avoiding a workout, I choose instead to work some of the muscle groups that I didn’t work yesterday.

Yes, it’s true, I deliberately set up some weights and worked through a short set of exercises to make my arms and chest ache as much as my calves do after my run yesterday:

  • Dumbell Hammer Curls
    • 10kg x 10 reps
    • 8kg x 12 reps
    • 6kg x 16 reps
  • Bench Press
    • 35kg x 10 reps x 3 sets
  • Incline Pressup
    • 10 reps x 3 sets

Yeah, I’ve kind of totalled my arms and chest today, but it feels like it was well worth it! 😉

I’m enjoying the workouts so much, that I’m thinking of revisiting my 28-day workout plan to reduce the number of recovery days. I figured at first that I should include the  recovery days to avoid over training, but given I tend to keep my workouts short and intense, I figure I could do more HIIT workouts during the week, have a larger more gentle workout at the weekend, and if I am careful about how I arrange my workouts so that I target different specific fitness goals, I can reduce the number of recovery days and still avoid overdoing things.

Perhaps it’s the vanity that comes with enjoying how my body is changing to fit the image I have in mind of a fitter and more healthy me. Maybe it’s the release of endorphins as I exercise, or perhaps it could even simply be that I am enjoying the sensation of muscles that ache with honest effort and not because of weakness and neglect. Whatever it is, it seems that I’m hooked, and I seem to have a new motivator to help me keep on track with my goals.

Yes, I know I’ve written before that my why is powerful enough to keep me motivated to keep working hard to achieve my goals, however I’m now realising that motivators don’t necessarily need to affect you as if you are an unwilling slave who needs to be driven with a stick to push you to reach your goals. Motivators can also be the carrot which lures you into making an effort and actually wanting to make that effort simply because you are going to enjoy doing it.

I’m making sure that the workouts are deliberately challenging, either by pushing the intensity or by picking exercises that I personally find are either difficult or something that I’m not used to. Each time that I complete a workout, or an exercise, rather than feeling hot, bothered, sweaty & tired, I’m now simply feeling as though I have achieved something – as well as being sweaty and tired! I feel as if I am a step closer to my goals, but I am also feeling stronger, more capable, and perhaps even a little more confident. On top of all of this, I just get this urge to be physically more active, and if I’ve had a relatively low activity day, I feel compelled to pick a few exercises or set up some weights, and to work my muscles until I feel both spent, and satisfied.

I know that I set my feet on this path months before I actually committed to this personal journey, and yet it’s also less than 2 months since I began transforming myself and I feel I have already achieved so much. The achievements though seem to be more personal than physical, and while those physical changes are still very important goals to me, I’m realising that they are only the tip of the iceberg, and that the most profound changes are the ones which are allowing me to rediscover the person who I truly want to be. I am letting go of all of the things that I allowed to hold me back for so many years, and learning to embrace new and exciting possibilities in my life that allow me to be a better me.

One Response to “Today was supposed to be a “rest” day!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Journey – Day 58 Progress | Diary of a Personal Trainer - 28 February 2013

    […] Today was supposed to be a “rest” day! (diaryofapersonaltrainer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Reader of Singapore

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Aeyysh's world

A small world full of thoughts

Hyperbole and a Half

Blogging a personal journey to health and fitness

Cranial Diarrhea

Capturing the crap floating around in my head

