Working out with my youngest son

23 Feb

I’m really happy to have my kids with me this weekend, and I used the opportunity this morning to get my youngest boy involved in an intense workout. I’ll admit that as a father I can be a little tough on my kids, particularly when I want them to try their hardest to do something well and I catch them screwing around instead of just getting the job done, so today’s workout was a bit of a mixed bag of emotions. I was annoyed with my boy for not focussing hard enough at one stage, and then I was really proud of him for buckling down and getting the job done.

I took my son through an 11 minute HIIT workout, and by the end of it we were both sweaty, exhausted, and had a sense of achievement. For me, the achievement was in getting my son involved and trying his hardest to work his body, and for my son he felt a sense of achievement that not only had he conquered a workout that was quite demanding for him physically, he had also managed to impress me by putting in a really solid effort and having a really great workout.

I made sure to do my workout with Elliot, and to show him that the workout was not only the same for me, but that it would also be challenging for me. Naturally I ensured that I worked at my maximum intensity, and that the resistance movements were weighted so that they would challenge both of us at a level appropriate for our relative levels of fitness. We used resistance bands for two of the movements, and relied on bodyweight for the other six, repeating the following sets twice using a 25 second work and 15 second rest sequence:

  • Lat Pulldown (Resistance Bands)
  • Walking Lunge
  • Left Side Plank + Oblique Twist
  • Right Side Plank + Oblique Twist
  • Push-up with alternating Oblique Crunch
  • Squat
  • Burpee
  • Chest Press (Resistance Bands)

This is one of the things that I really like about High Intensity Training. The most basic movements can contribute to a very challenging workout when they are performed with both perfect form and with maximum speed and effort. This means that almost any workout can be reasonably scaled to suit different fitness levels, ages, and with a little creativity can suit any level of physical ability. So not only can I get my son involved in the same workouts as me at his own maximum intensity, I can also expect to be able to do these same workouts – albeit with minor modifications perhaps – when I am in my 60’s… 70’s… hopefully also into my 80’s if I play my cards right and continue to maintain a healthier lifestyle. 🙂

4 Responses to “Working out with my youngest son”

  1. teenieyogini 23 February 2013 at 22:48 #

    How old are your sons?

    • Sean Robins 23 February 2013 at 22:54 #

      One is nearly 15, the other nearly 13. Practically all grown up… according to them anyway. 😉

      • teenieyogini 23 February 2013 at 23:27 #

        Until they turn 25, and realize they don’t know anything at all! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fitness Journey – Day 58 Progress | Diary of a Personal Trainer - 28 February 2013

    […] Working out with my youngest son (diaryofapersonaltrainer.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

The Reader of Singapore

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Aeyysh's world

A small world full of thoughts

Hyperbole and a Half

Blogging a personal journey to health and fitness

Cranial Diarrhea

Capturing the crap floating around in my head

